North Dakota Vision Services/School for the Blind

General Information

North Dakota Vision Services/School for the Blind
500 Stanford Road
Grand Forks North Dakota 1 58203-2799
(701) 795 2700
kwendel@nd.gov
http://www.ndvisionservices.com

Staff

Sally Brandt, Regional Coordinator-Grand Forks, sandrabrandt@nd.gov

Ken Dockter, Coordinator of Adult Services, kdockter@nd.gov, 701 795 2724

Kathy Grzadzielewski, Regional Coordinator-Devils Lake Region, kgrzadz@nd.gov, 701 795 2722

Pam Haus, Vision Rehabilitation Specialist - NE North Dakota, phaus@nd.gov, 701 795 2719

Lilly Mankie, APH Representative, lmankie@nd.gov, 701 795 2732

Erika Moulton, Regional Coordinator-Minot/Williston Regions, emlong@nd.gov, 701 857 7635

Paul Olson, Superintendent, polson@nd.gov, 701 795 2708

Amy Osvold, Vision Rehabilitation Specialist - Western North Dakota, abrunner@nd.gov, 701 857 7634

Tami Purcell, Business Manager, tpurcell@nd.gov, 701 795 2707

Lanna Slaby, Regional Coordinator-Jamestown Region, lslaby@nd.gov, 701 253 3012

Melissa Snyder, Regional Coordinator-Fargo, melissasnyder@nd.gov

Mary Verlinde, Regional Coordinator-Bismarck/Dickinson Regions, mverlind@nd.gov, 701 328 3986

Laurie Westling, Computer & Networking Specialist, lchaput@nd.gov, 701 795 2710

Tracy Wicken, Assistive Technology Teacher, trwicken@nd.gov, 701 795 2720

Cindy Williams, Coordinator of Center-Based Programs, ckwillia@nd.gov, 701 795 2704

Services Offered

  • Assistive Products
    • Sells adaptive devices. Products for sale on site and via mail.

  • Braille and Reading Instruction
    • Braille evaluations and consultations are provided to individuals of any age who could benefit from a tactual method of communication.

  • Braille/Electronic/Audio/Large Print Production
    • Reports, programs and agendas, catalogs, flyers and brochures handouts, meeting minutes, letters and memos, ballots, training materials, books, directories, schedules, menus and many more.

  • Community Outreach Programs
    • Has a regionalized statewide outreach program.

  • Computer Training/Assistive Technology
    • A state agency that serves all ages of visually impaired and blind individuals from North Dakota and NW Minnestoa

  • Daily Living Skills/Independent Living Skills Training
    • Provides vision-specific center-based and outreach services. Provides instruction in daily living skills, functional vision, music, recreational/leisure, technology, and vocational/career development.

  • Employment/Job Training
    • Provides training in transition, job development and job readiness, career planning, comprehensive vocational evaluation system.

  • Information and Referral
    • Operates a toll-free information and referral line; In-Service Training.

  • Low Vision Services
    • Provides low vision evaluation and follow-up. Offers resources and vision-specific instructions and adaptations for seniors; staff thst are employed to work specifically with adults.

  • Professional Training
    • Offers in-service training via workshops, conferences, and in-services.

  • Recreation Services
    • Offers recreation/leisure activities, including goal ball, beeper ball, and adaptations. Support and transportation to the Black Hills Regional Ski for Light event.

  • Services for Seniors

  • Travel/Orientation and Mobility
    • Provides orientation and mobility training.