Colorado Center for the Blind

General Information

Colorado Center for the Blind
2233 W. Shepperd Avenue
Littleton Colorado 1 80120
(303) 778 1130
ccb@cocenter.org
https://cocenter.org/

Brief Description

Since 1988, the Colorado Center for the Blind (CCB) has been providing comprehensive training to blind persons so that they can lead independent lives as fully integrated, productive members of society. CCB offers an innovative teaching model founded on the philosophy of the National Federation of the Blind, emphasizing positive attitudes about blindness and role modeling by blind professionals.
The Colorado Center for the Blind is committed to changing the experience of older blind and visually impaired persons from frustration to independence. With education and training these seniors can obtain the skills and confidence necessary to stay in their own homes and be contributing members of society.

Staff

Charles Bennett, Cane Travel Instructor, cbennett@cocenter.org

Julie Deden, Executive Director, jdeden@cocenter.org

Chip Johnson, Technology Instructor, cjohnson@cocenter.org

Monique Melton, Enrichment Course Coordinator/Instructor, mmelton@cocenter.org

David Nietfeld, Home Maintenance & Woodshop Instructor, dnietfeld@cocenter.org

Eliza Portugal, Braille Instructor, eportugal@cocenter.org

Jennifer Spears, Braille Instructor, jspears@cocenter.org

Carol Sprague, Administrative Coordinator, csprague@cocenter.org

Services Offered

  • Braille and Reading Instruction
    • Offers braille instruction.

  • Consultation/Technical Program Assistance
    • Helps professionals work successfully with older blind and visually impaired individuals to live independently and to develop positive attitudes about blindness. Offers a wide variety of in-services and training workshops.

  • Daily Living Skills/Independent Living Skills Training
    • The Independence Training Program (ITP) serves adults of all ages locally, nationally and worldwide. Whether you have recently lost your vision or always have been blind our program will fit your needs. ITP provides training in orientation and mobility, braille, technology, home management, and other classes. This residential program has an average length of six to nine months.

  • Employment/Job Training
    • Job class covers all aspects of vocational development including career exploration, resumes, interviewing, and work ethics. Students will also have the opportunities for situational assessments, job shadows, and internships.

  • Recreation Services
    • We want our students to know that being blind does not need to limit them. Blind people can live full, well-rounded lives. Students go rock climbing, hike in the mountains, ski, plant a garden, raft down the beautiful Colorado or Arkansas River and do much more. Being blind can be challenging in itself and, in order to be successful, we as blind people need to challenge ourselves.

  • Services for Seniors
    • The Colorado Center for the Blind is committed to changing the experience of older blind and visually impaired persons from frustration to independence. With education and training these seniors can obtain the skills and confidence necessary to stay in their own homes and be contributing members of society.

  • Support Groups
    • Many seniors who begin to lose their vision find that it is helpful to discuss this with others who have experienced the same loss. An independent and confident older blind individual facilitates support groups. Through this process visually impaired persons learn that they can continue to do many of the same things they did when fully sighted.

  • Travel/Orientation and Mobility
    • Offers orientation and mobility training.