Western Michigan University: Department of Blindness and Low Vision Studies

General Information

Western Michigan University: Department of Blindness and Low Vision Studies
Department of Blindness and Low Vision Studies
College of Health and Human Services
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5218
(269) 387 3455
paul.ponchillia@wmich.edu
http://www.wmich.edu/visionstudies/

Brief Description

Department also offers clinical vision services (low vision, traditional optometric services)

Staff

Jennipher Wiebold, Associate Professor and Coordinator of Rehabilitation Counseling/Teaching (RCT), jennipher.wiebold@wmich.edu, 269 387 3459

Richard Long, Professor, richard.long@wmich.edu, 269 387 3451

James Leja, Professor and Department Chair, james.leja@wmich.edu, 269 387 2645

David Guth, Professor, david.guth@wmich.edu, 269 387 3446

Dae Kim, Assistant Professor and Coordinator of the Orientation and Mobility for Adults Program, dae.kim@wmich.edu, 269 387 3447

Helen Lee, Assistant Professor and Coordinator of the Vision Rehabilitation Therapy Program, helen.lee@wmich.edu, 269 387 3448

Robert Wall Emerson, Professor and Co-coordinator of the TCVI/OMC Program, robert.wall@wmich.edu, 269 387 3072

Elyse Connors, Assistant Professor, elyse.m.connors@wmich.edu, 269 387 4450

Gayla Dennis, Office Coordinator, g.dennis@wmich.edu, 269 387 3456

Jeannyne Depoian, Office Associate, jeannyne.depoian@wmich.edu, 269 387 3868

Dawn Anderson, Faculty Specialist and Co-cordinator of the TCVI/OMC Program, dawn.l.anderson@wmich.edu, 269 387 5944

Services Offered

  • Personnel Preparation
    • M.A. in Orientation and Mobility for Adults (also distance ed.), M.A. in Vision Rehabilitation Therapy (also distance ed.), Dual M.A. in Rehabilitation Counseling and Vision Rehabilitation Therapy, M.A. in Teacher of Children with Visual Impairments and/or Orientation and Mobility with Children (also distance ed.) *Financial support is available through traineeships, scholarships, or other forms.

  • Distance Education
    • M.A. in Vision Rehabilitation Therapy, M.A. in Orientation and Mobility for Adults, M.A. in Teaching Children with Visual Impairments and/or Orientation and Mobility with Children. *Financial support is available through traineeships, scholarships, or other forms

  • Distance Education
    • M.A. in Vision Rehabilitation Therapy, M.A. Orientation and Mobility for Adults. M.A. in Teacher of Children with Visual Impairments and/or Orientation and Mobility with Children.